Our Core Business

The Ministry of Public Utilities is the Ministry within the Government of Trinidad and Tobago which provides oversight of the Utility Sector. Its mandate is to ensure the delivery of quality utility services at affordable rates to the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

The MPU has oversight of the following statutory bodies and agencies:

  • The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service (TTMS)
  • The Government Electrical Services Division (GEID)
  • The Trinidad and Electricity Commission (T&TEC)
  • The Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA)
  • The Trinidad and Tobago Postal Corporation (TT POST)
  • The Solid Waste Management Company (SWMCOL)
  • The Maintenance, Training and Security Company, (MTS)
  • The Regulated Industries Commission (RIC)